Fruit Tart

On vacation this week, so I am catching up on some much needed cooking/baking. I made this Fruit Tart for a friend, so unfortunately, I have not yet had a bite. Having a tart pan for so long, you would think I would have had the opportunity to actually make one of these. Nope. I just collect recipes for them.

 I used a combo recipe. Combo pretty and lazy.

Filling:

  • 1 (8-ounce) package cream cheese, softened
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • Mixture of freshly cut fruit

Glaze

  • 60 ml (¼ cup) cherry jelly, seedless raspberry jam, apricot jam or red current jelly

Crust

  • Homemade pillsbury pie crust…haha

Directions: Bake the crust according to the package directions. I did 450 for 10 min, but I took it out at 9 min. I might even bake at a lower temperature. Let this cook before putting the filling in. For the filling and topping: Beat the cream cheese, sugar, and vanilla together until smooth. Spread over the cooled crust.  To prepare glaze, in small saucepan heat jelly (or jam) over medium-low heat, stirring constantly, until jam is melted, set aside to cool slightly.Cut the strawberries into 1/4-inch slices and arrange around the edge of the crust. For the next circle, use kiwi slices. Add another circle of strawberries, filling in any spaces with blueberries. Cluster the raspberries in the center of the tart.

It was a pretty quick make. I think I would use powdered sugar instead of regular sugar for the filling next time. Or a pudding filling. I also put the glaze on the fruit as I put it on the tart. I didn’t want to mess it up by accidentally getting the filling mixed with glaze.

I got the recipe from foodgawker from La Mia Vtia Dolce. Naturally with a seemingly legit  blog title, she made everything from scratch.

What is your favorite tart? Sweet. Savory. Please share any recipes.

This entry was posted in Desserts and Cake. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

