The Zucchinis are coming, the Zucchinis are coming….


Ah yes, it is that time of year when the zucchini and squash come in. Anyone that has ever grown (or watched their significant other grow them) knows they tend to come in within a few weeks and generally there are more than you can imagine to use in dishes. This year, I prepared by collecting some recipes ahead of time so they would not go to waste. Right friends, you can’t freeze zucchini. My solution to everything does not apply.

As we had a small amount trickle in, I made a variety of pasta dishes. I find a lot of them consist of squash/zucchini, feta, kalamata olives, some sort of pasta.

I stole this Mediterranean Pasta Salad recipe from Cookie + Kate via Pinterest. It does not actually have pasta, but Israeli Couscous, which because of this recipe is my new favorite pasta substitute. It doesn’t taste like couscous at all, but is a wheat grain. I like the texture, it is sort of like a Pastini or Acini di Pepe. I only use a little bit of olive oil as I don’t like it soupy. I make a huge batch and then take leftovers to lunch. Items used from the garden: cherry tomatoes, squash, zucchini, and basil.

Stay tuned for more Zucchini happenings.

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Zucchinis are coming, the Zucchinis are coming….

  1. Deb says:

    Gotta try this one Danielle, looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

