Zucchinis, take two. Summer Vegetable Tart

Now I love myself a good tart. Mainly the crust and then the filling is secondary…until this dish. The Summer Vegetable Tart which I stole from Honeycomb, was yummy and freezable!

I attempted to serve this to my husband for dinner, which was not a success because it falls into the category of breakfast for dinner and he does not go for that. There was some confusion about tart vs. torte. Him thinking he was going to get dessert for dinner. So I got the whole tart to myself. I had, it for dinner the evening I made it and breakfast for the next few mornings. Slight overkill, but when something is good, I tend to go through it quickly.

I served it with a light salad of cherry tomatoes, basil, green beans and chickpeas with a splash of balsamic vinegar.

While the tart was very good, I think there are many variations of the recipe that you could try. This has swiss chard and cheddar, but I think spinach and feta might be good as well.

Here is a pic of my creation. Pretty close to the pic from the original recipe above.

Summer Vegetable Tart

adapted from New York Times
serves 4-6

Ingredients
1 sheet of puff pastry, thawed
2 Tbs olive oil
1 pound Swiss chard
1 medium onion, finely chopped
1 medium zucchini, chopped
1 tsp chopped thyme leaves
1 tsp chopped rosemary
4 eggs
½ cup tightly packed shredded cheddar cheese
¼ cup plain yogurt
¼ cup milk
salt and pepper to taste

preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Roll out your puff pastry on a lightly floured surface until 2 inches larger in diameter than your tart pan on all sides. Place the pastry over the pan and press into the pan along the bottom and up the sides. Cut off the excess and discard or reserve for another use. Prick the dough on the bottom of the pan with a fork and place in the refrigerator until ready to use.

In a large skillet, heat the olive oil over medium heat. Separate the Swiss chard leaves and stems. Finely chop the stems and give the leaves a rough chop. Add the chard stems and the onion to the skillet. Season with salt and cook, stirring occasionally, for 5 minutes. Add the zucchini and cook another 10 minutes until the zucchini is soft. Add the rosemary and thyme, stir, and add in the chard leaves. Continue to cook and stir until the leaves are wilted and tender, about 3 more minutes. Remove form heat and set aside.
Crack the eggs into a mixing bowl and whisk well. Add the cheese, yogurt, and milk (if you don’t have yogurt on hand just add ½ cup milk) and whisk to combine. Add the cooked vegetables to the egg mixture, season with salt and pepper, and stir well. Pour the filling into the chilled puff pastry. Spread the filling even with the spatula and bake for 45 to 50 minutes until firm and golden. Allow the tart to cool for at least 15-20 minutes before eating. Can also be served at room temperature.
Freezing: You can freeze this dish. I cut up slices and froze in freezer bags. Just take them out of the freezer and right into the toaster oven or oven at 250 for 15 minutes. I poke the center to see if it is cooked.

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Zucchinis, take two. Summer Vegetable Tart

  1. Birgit says:

    After looking into a handful of the blog posts on your blog, I seriously like your technique of blogging.
    I book marked it to my bookmark webpage list and
    will be checking back in the near future. Please visit
    my web site too and tell me what you think.

Leave a Reply

